​Nominations open for Disaster Resilience Awards

Issued: 22 May 2017

Minister for Emergency Services Troy Grant is encouraging disaster-ready communities across NSW to apply for the Resilient Australia Awards, and the NSW Get Ready Community Award.

Mr Grant said the NSW Government is looking to see examples of local communities joining forces to proactively build and strengthen resilience to natural disasters.

"While our emergency service agencies like the SES, RFS and Fire and Rescue NSW do remarkable work protecting and supporting communities in times of need, we all have a responsibility to think ahead, get ready and be as prepared as possible," Mr Grant said.

"Both the Resilient Australia Awards and the NSW Get Ready Community Award recognise communities proactively preparing for emergencies and building up resilience for times of need."

Now in their 18 th year, the Resilient Australia Awards are open to individuals, not for profit organisations, small and large businesses, local and state governments, schools, education institutions, research bodies and emergency service agencies.

Established in 2015, the NSW Get Ready Award focuses on the collaborative efforts of an entire community that has worked together and taken action to plan and prepare for when disaster strikes.

Mr Grant said while every natural disaster and emergency is different, there are practical steps that communities can take to mitigate risks.

"In 2016, Baradine won the NSW Get Ready Community Award after identifying its remote location and ageing population made it vulnerable to natural disasters," Mr Grant said.

"The township of less than 1,000 people pulled together and coordinated a program to improve their ability to respond, adapt and survive in the event of an emergency.

"The Baradine and District Progress Association, Warrumbungle Shire Council, emergency services personnel and local community groups have taken responsibility for their disaster-readiness by knowing, understanding and preparing for specific risks in their local area."

Applications close on 30 June 2017. With this year's winners announced at Parliament House in October 2017. For more information on how to apply for both the Resilient Australia Awards and the Get Ready NSW Awards, go to: http://www.emergency.nsw.gov.au/emsector/awards/ .