Disaster assistance extended to Balranald and Wentworth

Issued: 13 December 2016

Minister for Justice Michael Keenan and NSW Minister for Justice and Police Troy Grant today announced that disaster assistance has been made available for the flood-affected communities of Balranald and Wentworth.

Minister Keenan said the assistance is being provided through the jointly-funded Commonwealth-State Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements (NDRRA).

"The Australian and New South Wales Governments are committed to working together to support every community that has been affected by the floods which has been ongoing since late August," Mr Keenan said.

Minister Grant said the New South Wales Government had been closely monitoring the impact of the floodwaters to ensure affected communities have the support and assistance they need.

"Under the NDRRA, a range of assistance is now available in the local government areas of Balranald and Wentworth to help flood-affected individuals, small businesses, primary producers, and the local councils with their recovery, including:

Help for eligible people whose homes or belongings have been damaged;

Support for affected local councils to help with the costs of cleaning up and restoring damaged essential public assets;

Concessional interest rate loans for small businesses, primary producers and non-profit organisations;

Freight subsidies for primary producers; and

Grants to non-profit organisations.

The 45 local government areas receiving NDRRA assistance in response to the floods include: Albury, Balranald, Bathurst, Berrigan, Bland, Blayney, Bogan, Brewarrina, Cabonne, Carrathool, Cobar, Coolamon, Coonamble, Cootamundra-Gundagai, Cowra, Dubbo, Edward River, Federation, Forbes, Gilgandra, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hay, Hilltops, Junee, Lachlan, Leeton, Lockhart, Mid-Western, Murrumbidgee, Murray River, Narrabri, Narrandera, Narromine, Orange, Parkes, Snowy Valleys, Temora, Wagga Wagga, Walgett, Warren, Warrumbungle, Weddin, Wentworth and Yass Valley.

For information on personal hardship and distress assistance, contact the Disaster Welfare Assistance Line on 1800 018 444. To apply for a concessional loan, grant or freight subsidy, contact the NSW Rural Assistance Authority on 1800 678 593 or visit raa.nsw.gov.au.

Further information on disaster assistance is available at disasterassist.gov.au and emergency.nsw.gov.au