Additional Councils receive funding for local road repairs after flood event

Issued: 1 December 2016

Minister for Roads and Freight Duncan Gay today announced an additional 22 councils in the state's Central West and Riverina will receive $11.5 million in funding relief to repair local roads following flooding across the regions.

"Over the last few months, heavy rain and flooding affected a widespread area of NSW with the primary areas of concern including the Murray, Murrumbidgee and Lachlan River systems," Mr Gay said.

"This funding will kick start the repair of the council road network and now additional councils can get on with these works sooner rather than later."

Twenty one councils will receive $500,000 toward repairs for local road infrastructure while one council which suffered significant impact will receive $1 million.

The funding will be administered by Roads and Maritime Services directly to councils in December 2016.

Councils are encouraged to access disaster assistance funding for short and longer term repairs through the existing Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements.

Of the 22 additional councils which have recently been declared eligible for Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery Arrangements from flood events Weddin Shire Council will receive $1 million while the other 21 councils will receive $500,000.

Other councils to receive immediate funding are Albury, Berrigan, Bogan, Brewarrina, Carrathool, Cobar, Coolamon, Edward River, Federation, Greater Hume, Griffith, Hay, Junee, Leeton, Lockhart, Murray River, Murrumbidgee, Narrabri, Narrandera, Snowy Valleys and Wagga Wagga.

This additional funding is on top of the $13 million grant by the NSW Government announced in early October which was shared among 21 councils, which were declared eligible for Natural Disaster Relief and Recovery arrangements.

Councils who received immediate funding relief in October included: Bathurst, Bland, Blayney, Cabonne, Coonamble, Cootamundra-Gundagai Regional, Cowra, Forbes, Dubbo Regional, Gilgandra, Hilltops, Lachlan, Mid-Western Regional, Narromine, Orange, Parkes, Temora, Walgett, Warren, Warrumbungle and Yass Valley.