NSW Logo

Ministry for Police and Emergency Services
  1. Home
  2. About us
  3. State Emergency Management Committee
  4. State Emergency Management Committee
Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size

The State Emergency Management Committee (SEMC)

Emergency Management involves a range of programs and  arrangements designed to prevent, prepare for, respond to and recover from the effects of hazards impacting on the community.

The State Emergency Management Committee was established under the State Emergency and Rescue Management Act to ensure that New South Wales has a system to cope with emergencies which is robust, effective and flexible enough to deal with the range of hazards experienced in New South Wales. A hazard impacting on the community may result in an emergency

Functions of the State Emergency Management Committee

The State Rescue and Emergency Management Act identifies the SEMC as having the following functions:

(a)  to review, monitor and advise the Minister on the adequacy of the provisions of this Act relating to emergency management
(b)  to provide strategic policy advice to the Minister in relation to emergency management
(c)  to review, monitor and develop emergency management policy and practice at a State level and to disseminate information in relation to any such policy and practice
(d)  to review the State Emergency Management Plan (EMPLAN) and to recommend alterations to it
(e)  to endorse any subplans or supporting plans established under EMPLAN
(f)  to facilitate strategic State level emergency management capability through inter-agency co-ordination, co-operation and information sharing arrangements
(g)  such other functions as are conferred or imposed on the Committee by or under this Act or as are related to this Act and assigned to the Committee from time to time by the Minister.


The SEMC presently comprises the Chairperson, the State Emergency Operations Controller, the State Emergency Recovery Controller, and nineteen (19) representatives of relevant government and non-government agencies, as determined by the Minister.  The current membership and member biographies are contained in the SEMC Annual Report.

Functional Area Committees

The following Functional Area Committees co-ordinate the provision of support for emergency operations:

  • Agriculture and Animal Services
  • Telecommunication Services
  • Engineering Services
  • Environmental Services
  • Health Services
  • Public Information Services
  • Transport Services
  • Energy and Utility Services
  • Welfare Services

In accordance with Schedule 2 of the Act the following sub committees assist the SEMC in the exercise of its functions:

  • NSW Chemical, Biological, Radiological, Nuclear and Hazardous Materials Steering Committee
  • Mitigation Standing Committee
  • Strategic Training Group
  • Urban Search and Rescue (USAR) Advisory Committee
  • CBD Emergency Plan Working Group
  • Major Evacuation Centre Working Group
  • Climate Change Working Group
  • Lucas Heights Emergency Sub Plan Working Group

Print this page Reduce font size Increase font size